Thursday, 20 June 2013

Motorcycle Insurance Rates

Motorcycle Insurance Rates Definition

Motorcycle Insurance Minimum Requirements in Texas
The state of Texas requires all drivers to prove financial responsibility for any accidents they may cause. For many, that means purchasing liability insurance.

Ways to Establish Financial Responsibility
Although most drivers in the state prove their financial responsibility by purchasing an auto liability policy, it's not your only option. The following is a list of what the state will accept as proof of financial responsibility:

Vehicle liability insurance policy through a state-licensed insurance provider.
A surety bond filed with the county clerk. The bond must include two people, both of whom own real property in Texas.
A deposit of $55,000 in cash or securities, made to the county comptroller.
A deposit of $55,000 in cash or cashier's check, made to the county judge.
Certification of self-insurance through the Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT). This option is typically for dealers, as you must own more than 25 cars to be eligible for self-insurance.
Motorcycles Defined
Texas statutes are very specific about the definition of a motorcycle and other similar vehicles:

Motorcycle―A motorized vehicle with a saddle for the rider and operating on a maximum of three wheels. This does not include tractors. Motorcycles are considered the same as passenger vehicles when it comes to registration, titling, and insurance requirements.
Moped―A motorized cycle that does not operate faster than 30 mph and has less than 2 hp and less than 50 cc displacement.
Motor-driven cycle―A motorcycle with engine displacement of less than 250 cc.
If you need further information about these definitions or regarding your specific vehicle, contact your local TxDOT office. You can also call Customer Service at (888) 368-4689.

Texas Liability Insurance Requirements for Motorcycles
Currently, up to 20% of Texas drivers on the road at any time are uninsured. In an effort to decrease that number, state lawmakers have set required minimum amounts of liability insurance. So, if you want to drive in this state, you must have liability coverage in at least the following amounts:

$30,000 bodily injury coverage for one person in an accident
$60,000 bodily injury coverage total per accident
$25,000 property damage coverage per accident
Keep your insurance card in your vehicle at all times. You'll need it to register your car or apply for a driver's license―and, of course, if you're ever in an accident. If asked, you should also be prepared to show it to law enforcement.

The coverage amounts listed above are only minimums; there is no maximum. It's often a good idea to get more coverage or protect yourself with different types of insurance. Check out all the various types of insurance coverage to make sure you get the policy that will work best for you.

How Coverage Affects Helmet Requirements
Texas helmet requirements are not affected by how much automobile insurance you have. They are, however, somewhat affected by your health insurance policy. In short, if you ride a motorcycle (as driver or passenger) you must wear a helmet, unless:

You are at least 21 years old, AND
You have either:
Completed an authorized training and safety course, OR
You have health insurance in the amount of at least $10,000 to cover any potential injuries you might get while not wearing a helmet.
Proof of insurance and Financial Responsibility
In coalition with state lawmakers and other agencies, TxDOT to created TexasSure, a program to verify insurance electronically.

TexasSure: Insurance Verification Program
This verification program requires state insurance agencies to electronically submit insurance information directly to TxDOT. Once in the system, the information is accessible by all TxDOT departments, as well as law enforcement.

No action is required on your part, as long as you maintain the required minimum of coverage on your motorcycle. But if your insurance lapses or is canceled for some reason, or if there's a discrepancy in your records, you'll be hearing from TxDOT.

Respond to the notice from TxDOT by sending proof that you do have the required insurance, or resolve the discrepancy.

Penalties for Failure to Maintain Financial Responsibility
The suspension of your driver's license and registration are the result when you don't respond to a notice from TxDOT, or you really don't have insurance for any reason.

Within 20 days of receiving a suspension notice, you must decide whether you're going to appeal. If you do appeal, it could stop suspension procedures until the matter is resolved. Notify the TxDOT about your decision to appeal by contacting them at the address or phone number on your suspension notice.

If your license and registration are suspended a second time for lack of insurance, your car will be impounded for 180 days. Plus, the state will charge you a $15 fee for each day your vehicle is in impoundment.

Reinstating Registration and Driver's License
You can lift your suspension by doing the following:

Provide proof of current liability coverage
Pay reinstatement fees from $175 to $350
For more information related to penalties for no proof of insurance, contact your local TxDOT office.

Other Topics in This Section
Auto Insurance Requirements
Texas car insurance information center. What insurance to buy in Texas, how to decide, compare policies, purchase TX car insurance.

Commercial Auto Insurance Minimum Requirements
Commercial vehicle insurance requirements in TX. Protect your rig or your fleet by maintaining proper financial responsibility on your commercial vehicles in Texas.

Penalties For Driving Without Insurance

Learn More On Penalties For Driving Without Insurance In Your State. No Insurance Violations Vary By State. Avoid Allowing You Car Insurance Policy To Lapse.
Motorcycle Insurance Rates
Motorcycle Insurance Rates
Motorcycle Insurance Rates
Motorcycle Insurance Rates
Motorcycle Insurance Rates
Motorcycle Insurance Rates
Motorcycle Insurance Rates
Motorcycle Insurance Rates
Motorcycle Insurance Rates
Motorcycle Insurance Rates
Motorcycle Insurance Rates

No comments:

Post a Comment